2016 AGM Minutes





1          Presentation of Trophies

2          Apologies for absence were received from:-
Colin Walmsley (Holsworthy); Peter Stuckey (Tiverton); Graham Nye; (Woodbury Park); Charles Wray (Fingle Glen);
Tony Messenger (Bigbury); John Faithful (Holsworthy); John Hambly (Bovey Castle); Peter Lawrence (Bigbury);
Malcolm Tester (Teignmouth) and Geoffrey Jewell (Dartmouth).

3          Approval of the Minutes of the Forty Fifth AGM – these were approved.      Proposed by Brian Stockton (Ivybridge/Dinnaton) and seconded by Phil Hampton (Exminster).

4          Matters arising – none from the previous minutes but it was noted that the   Hon. Secretary had mistakenly put Ian Drawbridge down as a member at Stover when, in fact, he is a member at Churston.

5          Captain’s Report – attached.

6          Secretary’s Report – attached.

7          Treasurer’s Report – attached.
Proposed by Mike Kirkham (Exeter) and seconded by Phil Keen (East Devon) that the accounts be accepted. Approved.

Ian Drawbridge (Churston) drew everyone’s attention to the work that the Hon Treasurer – David Bromage (Sidmouth) – had carried out over the past 10 years. The delegates applauded DB.

8          Election of Officers for 2017 Proposed by Phil Hampton (Exminster) and        seconded by Adrian Granville-Smith (Saunton) that the following take             office in 2017:-

Mike Kirkham Exeter President
Peter Stuckey Tiverton Vice President
Chris Henderson Tavistock Captain
Harvie Taylor Stover Vice-Captain
Bob Small Tavistock Honorary Secretary
David Bromage Sidmouth Honorary Treasurer
John Hambly Bovey Castle Honorary Assistant Secretary

9          Election of Auditors for 2017: Proposed by Harvie Taylor (Stover) and seconded by Dave Morgan (Honiton) that ‘David Roberts and Terry Blackler of Sidmouth’ be appointed. Approved.

10        Election of Executive Committee Members for 2017 – 2019 Proposed by Chris Henderson and seconded by Harvie Taylor that the following serve on the Executive Committee:-

David Grieve (Tiverton) to fill Bryan Blaber’s place on the Committee following Bryan Blaber’s death in post. In taking a place on the Committee, David Grieve will advise the Committee on matters relating to the rules of golf and DMVGA rules.

Stuart Martin (Exeter) to fill John Faithful’s place with John Faithful standing down from the Committee.

Phil Keen (East Devon) and Ian Drawbridge (Churston) to continue up-to and including 2018.

Adrian Granville-Smith (Saunton) and Peter Lawrence (Bigbury) to continue up-to and including 2017.

David Grieve gave a short speech thanking those present for his election.

 11    Any Other Business

 11.1     The creation of a new Officer’s post on the Executive Committee – that of Past Captain – Proposed by Chris Henderson (Tavistock) and seconded by Derek Mott (Libbaton).  Approved.

11.2    Proposed increase in membership subs or event feesThe Hon.Secretary reported that, following closer inspection of the accounts, there would be absolutely no need to increase membership fees or event fees.

11.3    Sub-Committee reports on:-

           DMVGA Logo and Application of logo to clothing and paperwork

Adrian Granville-Smith (Saunton) reported on the development of the new logo, which is to come into use immediately and how it will be applied to varying items of all branded clothing, equipment and paper. (Please see at head of these minutes.)

Proposed by David Grieve (Tiverton) and seconded by Phil Webb (Ilfracombe) that the new logo and its relevant application be approved.  Approved.

 The Hon Secretary reported on the implementation of the DMVGA as a Qualifying Authority; whilst there had been some IT difficulties it was otherwise felt to have been a success. Next year the DMVGA will have access to the Devon County software.  Derek Mott (Libbaton) asked that the CSS be published with all full qualifying results.

Revised Emerton-Court Trophy rules –

Chris Henderson (Tavistock) reported that the rules had been subject to a full overhaul to simplify the rules and make them clearer.  The rules had not been altered but simplified.  It was also agreed that Club Reps and Vets Captains should work in tandem to ensure that the rules were not broken.

11.4     Revised balloting system for all DMVGA meetings – John Essery (Downes Crediton).

John Essery made a presentation with a view to doing away with the random balloting system and replacing it with a more structured system. Discussion followed with no clear outcome.

Ian Drawbridge (Churston) proposed that the matter be referred to the sub-committee. Peter Coates (Thurlestone) suggested that team events and individual events be treated differently.

Above actions proposed by Brian Stockton (Ivybridge/Dinnaton) and seconded by Lez Jennings (Borringdon Park). Approved.

 12       Presentation of Ribbons of Office to President and Captain. Outgoing

President Peter Anglis (Tavistock) presented the chain of office to Mike Kirkham (Exeter).

Stuart MacKerrell (Dainton Park) presented the chain of office to incoming Captain Chris Henderson (Tavistock)

 There being no further business the meeting was declared closed by the President at 19.45.