Emerton-Court Winners



Presented in 1975 by our founder Gordon Emerton-Court, and played for from 1976 onwards, for an inter-Club four ball better ball matchplay competition, of five pairs per side, between DMVGA member Clubs. Initially, matches were one-off games on the “home team’s” course or on a neutral course as agreed between the two Clubs with the final being on a neutral course (traditionally Churston as it was Gordon Emerton-Court’s home Club). Nowadays, each round up to the final is played on a home and away basis with the overall score after both games determining the winner. The final is always played on a neutral course over 18 holes and currently Churston remains the traditional venue. The winning Club receive the Trophy (an old fashioned pewter measuring mug from the Emerton-Court family on a wooden stand made by Gordon Emerton-Court himself) which they keep for one year and the individual players each receive an Engraved Glass.


Year Golf Club Year Golf Club
1976, East Devon 1998, Churston
1977, Tiverton 1999, Ilfracombe
1978, Tiverton 2000, Teignmouth
1979, Stover 2001, Saunton
1980, Saunton 2002, Saunton
1981, East Devon 2003, Tiverton
1982, Saunton 2004, Saunton
1983, Yelverton 2005, Yelverton
1984, East Devon 2006, Yelverton
1985, East Devon 2007, Torquay
1986, Teignmouth 2008, Royal North Devon
1987, Saunton 2009, Churston
1988, Saunton 2010, Royal North Devon
1989, Sidmouth 2011, Saunton
1990, Saunton 2012, Tiverton
1991, Ilfracombe 2013, Libbaton
1992, Saunton 2014, Staddon Heights
1993, Exeter 2015, Elfordleigh
1994, Dartmouth 2016, Staddon Heights
1995, Sidmouth 2017, Dartmouth
1996, East Devon 2018, Churston
1997, Churston 2019, Staddon Heights